Joebyte ?

Joebyte

Hi!
Nice of you
to drop in.

I am Jörg Schlottmann and I am working in adult education. That encompasses everything from design to to delivery that is important for knowledge transfer. Hold seminars, explain the world, make complex things easily comprehendable for the target group – that would about sum it up. On top of that I have a great curiosity for a host of other topics. To these belong  amateur radio (my callsign is DF6XP – for the insiders), art, Great Britain, the German energy economy and measurable quantities in contrast to felt truths. About that – and anything else that comes up spontaneously – I will write here from time to time.

By the way, you might not believe this, but this blog actually exists because I just wanted to check out WordPress. Professionally I have come into contact with Joomla (another content management system) and was curious about the workings of WordPress. At the same time,  I wanted to write a short account of an amateur radio activity thet took place during our holidays. The question was: Where? And now this blog is here.

And why joebyte.de? You might not believe this, either. Since the late seventies I deal with IT and have operated a range of the early personal computers like the Commodore VC20, Sinclair ZX81 and Apple 2 . There were no umlauts -the Äs, Ös and Üs of the German language- which is a bit odd when you are named Jörg. But there were user names for the first computer programs. And somehow Joerg and the bits and bytes mixed up to “Joebyte” as my nick- and user name. Since the early years of the internet I had the domain “joebyte.de” reserved and have now activated it for this blog. That’s the story.

Enjoy my blog. It would be nice to hear from you, too.

Jörg Schlottmann

Joebyte ?

Tag!
Nett, dass Sie vorbeischauen.

Ich bin Jörg Schlottmann und beschäftige mich beruflich mit Erwachsenenbildung. Das umfasst vom Entwurf bis zur Durchführung alles, was bei einem Wissenstransfer wichtig ist. Seminare geben, die Welt erklären, Komplexes für die Zielgruppe verständlich darstellen, so lässt sich das allgemein beschreiben. Daneben besitze ich Neugier für eine Menge anderer Dinge. Dazu gehört der Amateurfunk (mein Rufzeichen ist DF6XP – für die Insider), Kunst, Großbritannien, die deutsche Energiewirtschaft und messbare Größen im Gegensatz zu gefühlten Wahrheiten. Darüber -und was spontan noch so anfällt- schreibe ich hier von Zeit zu Zeit.

Übrigens, Sie werden das nicht glauben, aber eigentlich gibt es diesen Blog, weil ich einfach mal WordPress ausprobieren wollte. Beruflich habe ich mich schon mit Joomla (auch ein Content Management System) auseinandergesetzt und war einfach mal Neugierig, wie WordPress funktioniert. Und ausserdem wollte ich auch noch einen kurzen Bericht über eine Amateurfunkaktivität im letzten Urlaub schreiben. Die Frage war: Wo? Und nun ist der Blog da.

Und warum joebyte.de? Werden Sie wahrscheinlich auch nicht gauben. Ich setze mich seit den späten siebziger Jahren mit IT auseinander und habe vom Commodore VC20, über ZX81 bis hin zum Apple 2 so einiges bedient. Umlaute gab’s damals nicht (blöd, wenn man Jörg heisst), aber Benutzernamen für die ersten Anwendungen gab’s schon. Und irgendwie ist dann aus Joerg und den Bits und Bytes „Joebyte“ als mein Spitz- und Username entstanden. In den früheren Jahren des Internets habe ich die Domain „joebyte.de“ reserviert und jetzt für diesen Blog aktiviert. So ist das.

Viel Spass auf meinem Blog, wär‘ auch nett, von Ihnen was zu hören.

Jörg Schlottmann